Japan’s experimental icons Boris release spooky new song

For more than a quarter of a century, the Japanese Boris have continuously pushed their own limits, renewing their creative spirit with a radically wide and experimental range of styles and sounds. On “Drowning By Numbers”, the first track from their upcoming 2022 album, W, the band overturns the script again with a blurry, minimalist, wave-free tingle.

While this new single is indicative of Boris’ approach to the rest of W, it has the making of an extreme reaction to the 2020s No, one of the band’s most abrasive recordings to date which adopted a raucous, lo-fi black metal aesthetic and interwoven it with loud sludge rock.

Rather, “Drowning By Numbers” serves as a palette cleanser from this exercise to the end with a quirky bassline, funeral vibe and the huffed, whispered voice of guitarist Wata.

Commenting on the music video for this new song, Boris said, “This video was shot at a private showcase with a limited invitation in April 2021. This is a collaborative performance with a contemporary dance team. The song has been transformed from its original performance and visualized; a large hat symbolically dances at the start of the new album. “

Watch the video below.

W will be released on January 21 on Sacred Bones Records. Pre-order the album here and check out the illustration and track list below.

Boris, “Drowning By Numbers” music video

Boris, W Album cover + track list

1. “I want to go to the side where you can touch …”
2. “Icelandic”
3. “Drowning by the numbers”
4. “Invitation”
5. “The Fallen”
6. “Beyond good and evil”
7. “Old projector”
8. “You will know” (Ohayo Version)
9. “Jozan”

The “Big 4” of the 17 metallic sub-genres

Everyone knows the “Big 4” of thrash metal, but what about other styles of metal?

About Darnell Yu

Check Also

Dope releases first two songs in six years, announces 2023 album

Dope are back with their first new songs in six years, “Believe” and “No Respect.” …